JNLP app runs good but without any data previously stored

Get help with installation and configuration of OWS. Please post specific bug reports, pull requests, or source code extensions on github.
vcm
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jan 2021, 19:42

JNLP app runs good but without any data previously stored

Post by vcm »

Hi,
I use a jnlp app regularly in my w10 java jdk 8.x 64.
I want now to work with java jdk 15 and I don't knew that javws support was interrupted.
Searching for solutions I found OWS, and I installed 1.3.1 ver.
When I load jdk 8 in JVM Manager, I work fine with my jnlp app, but when I load jdk 15, my jnlp app runs good but I don't find any data in it, as if it were used for the first time.
I logged it verbosely, but I don't found nothing apparently useful. Log files when jdk 8 and when jdk 15 are similars.
Any idea?
Thanks in advance

Stephan Classen
Posts: 184
Joined: 27 Mar 2020, 09:55

Re: JNLP app runs good but without any data previously stored

Post by Stephan Classen »

Sorry but without knowing the application we cannot help here.
If the application saves the data relative to the JDK then it will of course not find any data when you chose a different JDK.
Or it could be that the application uses a feature which is no longer available in JDK 15 and therefore fails to load the data.

The best you can do is contact the developers of the application and ask them if their app is compatible to the JDK 15 and where the data is stored on disk.

vcm
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jan 2021, 19:42

Re: JNLP app runs good but without any data previously stored

Post by vcm »

Hi Stephan,
I know where the data is and it's not relative to the JDK (this is why I've posted here), therefore, I suppose the problem should concern your second suggestion.
Anyway, I follow your advice and I'll contact the software house.
Bye, and thanks again.

Stephan Classen
Posts: 184
Joined: 27 Mar 2020, 09:55

Re: JNLP app runs good but without any data previously stored

Post by Stephan Classen »

can you give me a hint where the data is stored?

Is it relative to the JNLP file?
is it in a fixed directory?
is it relative to the user home directory?

The current launcher is setting some of these base directories to somewhat unusual values.
Maybe this is related to the behavior you are seeing

Stephan Classen
Posts: 184
Joined: 27 Mar 2020, 09:55

Re: JNLP app runs good but without any data previously stored

Post by Stephan Classen »

please retry with version 1.3.2

Post Reply